Bug Report: 2400 A.D.

General forum for support issues related to the CFFA3000

Bug Report: 2400 A.D.

Postby polyex » Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:13 am

2400ad-game-boot.dsk on asimov does not work with CFFA 3000 3.1 Beta 1. This image works fine using Virtual ][.
polyex
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:28 pm

Re: Bug Report: 2400 A.D.

Postby polyex » Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:17 am

I would like to mention it does not BOOT using the CFFA 3000, but does in the emulator. The disk image is readable.
polyex
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:28 pm

Re: Bug Report: 2400 A.D.

Postby david__schmidt » Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:51 am

What happens when you try to boot it? I verified that it works in GSport too. How far does it get on your hardware?

Did you try the 2400AD.2mg image in the SmartPort?
david__schmidt
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 9:32 pm

Re: Bug Report: 2400 A.D.

Postby polyex » Wed Jan 23, 2013 1:57 am

I am running a 128k Apple IIe Enhanced. The only other hardware is a Disk II controller card in Slot 5 with two floppy drives attached and a Mockingboard clone in Slot 4. The CFFA 3000 Is in Slot 7 with its emulation of the floppies drives on slot 6. When I "booted" from the menu on CFFA to Slot 6, it accessed the virtual disk and dropped to the monitor. When I boot to a virtual hard disk (Prodos Basic command line) on slot 7 and then "in#6" I get a cleared screen , then an ERR message at the top, and if you wait like 5 minutes it drops to the monitor. The is all with 2400ad-game-boot.dsk. If I boot to my virtual hard disk on slot 7 (Prodos Basic command line) and then type "PREFIX /GAMES" , then "-PRODOS" it will boot start up Prodos on the virtual floppy image , and then eventually the game. BTW - CFFA 3000 Reports the floppy disk image as Dos 3.3 order, should it not say Prodos? I have not tried the 2400AD.2mg yet, as 2400ad-game-boot.dsk will fine work in emulators so I assumed this is a bug in the CFFA 3000 and or my other hardware.
polyex
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:28 pm

Re: Bug Report: 2400 A.D.

Postby polyex » Wed Jan 23, 2013 2:23 am

Yes, the 2400AD.2mg does boot
polyex
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:28 pm

Re: Bug Report: 2400 A.D.

Postby david__schmidt » Wed Jan 23, 2013 6:18 am

polyex wrote:BTW - CFFA 3000 Reports the floppy disk image as Dos 3.3 order, should it not say Prodos?

No, this disk (like most 5-1/4" images) is captured in DOS physical sector order, even though the filesystem on top of it is ProDOS. The physical and logical layers are independent of one another.

The problem is the boot sector of the 2400ad-game-boot.dsk. I built a new ProDOS disk with CiderPress (in order to get a fresh boot sector), then copied all of the files to it, and it booted and played fine. Which also explains why the .2mg worked as did booting ProDOS elsewhere and running the game off of the disk image. As long as the CFFA3000 didn't try to execute the boot sector code, it was fine. So that's what we'll have Dave concentrate on.
david__schmidt
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 9:32 pm


Return to CFFA3000 Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron