Laser 128 CFFA and 8 Drives.

For people with technical questions about their CFFA Interface card. You can use this forum to communicate with me and with other CFFA users. If you are posting a problem, please be as detailed as possible, including any necessary sequence needed to cause the problem, your system information and any error messages.

Moderator: rich

Postby rsteinmetz70112 » Sat May 08, 2004 10:32 am

I am trying to use a CFFA with 256MB Sandisk CF card in the external slot of my Laser 128.

It does not seem to recognizes all of the partitions of the card. When placed in Slot 5 and formated with Copy II Plus 9.0 under PRO DOS 1.8, I see Slot 5 and Slot 2 Drive 1 and , even though the 8 partition jumper is removed. I simultaneously installed my Sider Hard Drive and successfully transfered all of my of my data and programs to the drives.

In order to do this I have to disable the internal expansion ROM which sets in Slot 5.

When I install the CFFA in Slot 7 and enable the internal RAM I cannot see anything except Slot 7 Drives 1 and 2. The formerly viable Slot 2 drives are no longer viable.

I'm puzzled about what is happening.

It seems I should be able to see 8 partitions in slot 5 not 4, and those partitions should be viable even when I transfer the drive to Slot 7.

Any ideas?
rsteinmetz70112
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 6:00 pm

Postby rich » Sat May 08, 2004 8:14 pm

Hi Robert,

I hope others chime in on this thread. But I just want to make sure you realize under normal ProDOS, you will only ever see 2 drives in any one slot. So to see 8 drives, ProDOS will map the other drives to 4 different slot numbers.
But I think most of those features came at ProDOS 2.0.x. Someone please correct me if I am wrong.
rich
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Wisconsin

Postby rich » Sat May 08, 2004 8:52 pm

Robert,

I just confirmed it. First I created 8 drives on a SanDisk Extreme 1Gig CF card using ProDOS 2.0.3. I was able to catalog all 8 drives. Note: There were 2 per slot. Then I copied ProDOS 1.9 from floppy over the 2.0.3 version and rebooted.
If I used slot 5, I could see 4 of the orginal 8 drives. If I used any other slot, I could only see 2 of the original drives. This is what I expected. (Slot 5 had some port mapping features before ProDOS version 2.x)
Anyway, if you can't find proDOS 2.0.3, let me know. But also note that, ProDOS version 1.9 was the last version to work on the ][+ with 64K.
rich
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Wisconsin

Postby rsteinmetz70112 » Sun May 09, 2004 6:23 am

Thank you very much that clears things up. I've got someone sending me a disk of ProDOS 2.03 which I should have soon.

ProDOS 2.x should work on my Laser 128 which is very similar to a //c, but we'll see.

It seem to handle the drive mapping identically.
rsteinmetz70112
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 6:00 pm

Postby rsteinmetz70112 » Sun May 16, 2004 4:26 pm

I have found a copt ofPRODos 2.0.1 and it seem to work properly one the LAser128.
rsteinmetz70112
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 6:00 pm


Return to Tech Support Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests