Woohoo!! 100 interested parties for Run #4!

This forum is for the discussion of the CFFA for Apple II project.

Moderator: rich

Woohoo!! 100 interested parties for Run #4!

Postby wernst » Mon Oct 24, 2005 3:40 pm

How exciting! More than 100 warm bodies have signed up for a CFFA card. I've been waiting since May. I can hardly wait....

-Warr
(former Beagle Bros tech support)
wernst

Over 100 Warm Bodies

Postby gsmcporet » Sat Dec 31, 2005 3:11 pm

Warr,

Your post says that you used to do work for Beagle Brothers. That had to be cool! How long were you there? I always thought that they put out some of the best software utilities around. It was a shame that they had to close up shop.

Best Regards,
Steven
gsmcporet

Postby wernst » Thu May 25, 2006 2:42 pm

Sorry for the tardy reply.

In 1988 I was a college student at UC San Diego, and looking over the job board at the career center. Posted on the wall was a card for "Apple II Technical Support. Apple II experience required. Will train. Part time." I was already a die-hard 8-bit Apple II user for 3 years, and was shocked and astonished to learn that the company was Beagle Bros. I was already a huge fan, and my father had even corresponded with Bert Kersey after reading Bert was using the then-new laser printer with AppleWriter to typeset certain things in the Beagle Bros catalogs.

A month of interviews later, and I was hired for part-time technical support, meaning I answered the tech support phone 8 hours a day, two or three days a week. I also answered mail. We were responsible for the entire TimeOut series, as well as all the Classics, and the new BeagleWrite/Draw stuff. For a few years there, I was basicaly a walking encyclopedia of all things Apple II, hardware and software.